NDM Council

NDM Council

CLLR S.L Ndinisa

Office of the Speaker

CLLR K.J Boshomane

Councilor Whip

Members of Mayoral Committee

Cllr L. J Dikgale

(MMC – Technical Services)

Cllr R.C Mahlobogoane

(MMC – Corporate Services)

Cllr G.T Mthimunye

(MMC – Finance)

Cllr S.H Mahlangu


Cllr C.L Maraba

(MMC – Social Services)

CLLR T. Pookgoadi


Portfolio Committees

Section 79 Committees: Composition

(Click on the relevant green bar to view more)

2.1 Infrastructure and Service Delivery, Water, Sanitation, Electricity, Roads and Maintenance:

    • Cllr Khumalo Lucas Fenter as Chairperson
      • Cllr Mnisi ST
      • Cllr Malahle D
      • Cllr Cronje RE
      • Cllr Masemula LC
2.2 Social Services, Disaster Management, Youth, Women, The Disabled, Sport, Arts & Culture, Health and Education:

    • Cllr Nkoane Mantwa Rosina as Chairperson
      • Cllr Zondo LJN
      • Cllr Mokoala VD
      • Cllr Mhlanga MT
      • Cllr Fakude T
2.3 Corporate Services Human Resources, Legal Services and Human Resources Development:

    • Cllr Nkosi Nomusa Beauty as Chairperson
      • Cllr Nobela MT
      • Cllr Lamola BR
      • Cllr Malefane BP
      • Cllr Zondo LJN
2.4 Development, Planning, Human Settlement, Public Safety and Transport:

    • Cllr Nkosi Thandi Lesaya as Chairperson
      • Cllr Legong TB
      • Cllr Mokoena SL
      • Cllr Selala NH
      • Cllr Nobela MT
2.5 Finance, Risk and Audit:

    • Cllr Mboweni Linda Modiegi as Chairperson
      • Cllr Shabangu MM
      • Cllr Ndlovu R
      • Cllr Weber AMM
      • Cllr Makola LM
2.6 Local Economic Development, Human Settlement and Tourism:

    • Cllr Moseri Phineas Pule as Chairperson
      • Cllr Shongwe E
      • Cllr Zandamela S
      • Cllr Fakude DC
2.7 Municipal Public Accounts Committee (MPAC):

    • Cllr Ngwenya Xolani Sydney as Chairperson
      • Cllr Motanyane TE
      • Cllr Skhosana DJ
      • Cllr Sibanyoni JM
      • Cllr Boshego S
2.8 Rules and Ethics Committee:

    • Cllr Ndinisa Smart Lucky as Chairperson
      • Cllr Boshomane JK
      • Cllr Malefane P
      • Cllr Van den Berg EH
      • Cllr Magagula M

3. THAT the following functions and quorums be determined in respect of the various SECTION 79 Committees:

3.1 Infrastructure Development and Service Delivery:

    • To advise Council on infrastructure development and service delivery issues; and
    • The quorum of the Committee is 50% plus 1.

3.2 Transport, Roads and Public Safety:

    • To advise Council on roads, transport and public safety issues; and
    • The quorum of the Committee is 50% plus 1.

3.3 Finance:

    • To advise Council on financial issues; and
    • The quorum of the Committee is 50% plus 1.

3.4 Administration and Human Resources:

    • To advise Council on administration and human resources issues; and
    • The quorum of the Committee is 50% plus 1.

3.5 Local Economic Development:

    • To advise Council on local economic development issues; and
    • The quorum of the Committee is 50% plus 1.

3.6 Social, Youth and Women Development:

    • To advise Council on social, youth and women development matters; and
    • The quorum of the Committee is 50% plus 1.

3.7 Geographical Names:

    • To advise Council on renaming of towns, townships etc.
    • The quorum of the Committee is determined as 50% plus 1.


Structure Description Composition Terms of reference
IDP/PMS Forum This is a political structure which institutionalizes and guarantees representative participation in the IDP Processes.

Chaired by the Executive Mayor.

Comprises of:

  • Executive Mayor;
  • Executive Mayors of the six local municipalities (District level);
  • Members of the Mayoral Committee;
  • Representatives of all political parties within Council;
  • Municipal Manager (including Municipal Managers of local municipalities at District level);
  • Senior municipal officials;
  • Sector Departmental HODs and Directors;
  • Traditional leadership;
  • Councilors and Ward Committee Chairpersons;


  • Parastatals;
  • Civil society, from all municipalities and other delegated government officials.
  • Provide an organisational mechanism for discussion, negotiation and decision making between the stakeholders inclusive of municipal government;
  • Represent constituency interest in the IDP process;
  • Participate in the process of setting and monitoring “key performance indicators”;
  • Promote coordination and alignment of activities vertically and horizontally;
  • Monitor the performance of the planning and implementation process
  • To facilitate the integration of the policies, objectives, strategies and projects;

Proposed issues to be considered in the Code of Conduct for the
IDP/PMS Representative Forum:
The code of conduct would regulate issues such as:
Understanding by members of their role as representatives of their constituencies
Feedback to constituents
Required majority for approval


  1. THAT a Rules and Ethics Committee be established with the following composition:
    • Clr G T Mthimunye as Chairperson
      • Clr S K Mashilo
      • Clr J C Tshabalala – ANC
      • Clr R E Cronje – DA
      • Clr D D E Mdluli – PAC
      • Clr T Maseko – MMC Administration & Human Resource

2.  THAT the Rules and Ethics Committee advise Council on the interpretation of any decision made in terms of Council’s Standing Rules and Orders and the interpretation and application of the Code of Conduct applicable to Councillors.

3.  THAT the quorum of the Rules and Ethics Committee be determined as 50% plus 1.